Login / Registration +91 120 4373591

Primary School

TPrimary Schools provide education from Class 1 to Class 8. The children in these classes are generally aged between 6 to 14 years. It is the next stage after kindergarten (Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Prep or Lower Kindergarten and Upper Kindergarten). The next stage after primary education is Middle School (Class 5th to 8th). In most schools in North India, children in Classes 1st to 3rd are taught English, Hindi, Mathematics, Environmental Science, and General Knowledge. In class 4th and 5th the environmental science subject is replaced by General Science and Social Studies. However some schools may introduce this concept in Class 3 itself. Some schools may also introduce a third language in Class 5th or even in Class 4th. Sanskrit and local state language are the most common third languages taught in Indian schools. At some places, primary education is labeled as the education of Class 3rd to Class 5th and up to class 2nd as pre-primary education. This is because many new concepts are introduced in this class. Children are taught painting instead of drawing and colouring, exams are taken, and Word Sum Puzzle in maths are introduced along with geometry. The National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) is the apex body for school education in India. The NCERT provides support and technical assistance to a number of schools in India and oversees many aspects of enforcement of education policies. In India, the various bodies governing school education system are:

  • The state government boards, in which the majority of Indian children are enrolled.
  • The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) board.
  • The Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations (CISCE) board.
  • The National Institute of Open Schooling.
  • International schools affiliated to the International Baccalaureate Programme and/or the Cambridge International Examinations.
  • Islamic Madrasah schools, whose boards are controlled by local state governments, or autonomous, or affiliated with Darul Uloom Deoband.
  • Autonomous schools like Woodstock School, Auroville, Patha Bhavan and Ananda Marga Gurukula.

What is Primary School

Primary/secondary education in India is segregated as Primary (1st standard to 4th standard), Upper Primary (5th standard to 7th standard), Lower Secondary (8th standard to 10th standard), and Higher Secondary (11th and 12th standard).

  • Kindergarten: nursery - 3 years, Lower Kindergarten (LKG) -4 years, Upper Kindergarten (UKG) - 5 years. - These are not mandatory as per government rules but however its recommended before joining 1st standard.
  • 1st Standard: 6 years
  • 2nd Standard: 7 years
  • 3rd Standard: 8 years
  • 4th Standard: 9 years
  • 5th Standard: 10 years
  • 6th Standard: 11 years
  • 7th Standard: 12 years
  • 8th Standard: 13 years
  • 9th Standard: 14 years
  • 10th Standard: 15 years
  • 11th Standard: 16 years
  • 12th Standard: 17 years

FindSchoolz strive to enrich entire education system by making it technology driven.

At FindSchoolz, we are committed to automate the basic elements of school’s operation

Read More
Scroll to Top